Happy Labor Day!

BJ Bounds

Monday is Labor Day and we’re happily closed! 

It’s still too hot in Texas for an outdoor cookout but that’s just what I want to do!  Well, I don’t want to do it; I just want to enjoy the fruits of someone else’s labor.  I have no idea how to run a charcoal grill.

Last Memorial Day I gave you a recipe for one of my favorite brisket rubs.  I would love to know if any of you tried it since then.  It is really good.

Today I thought I would commemorate this holiday with one of my most recently discovered favorite recipes.  This time it’s a dessert, and it’s so incredibly easy I’m almost sorry to tell you.  But here it is:

Lemon Squares

1 box angel food cake mix (the kind you just add water)
1 can lemon pie filling

Mix the cake mix together with the pie filling.  Pour into lightly greased 9×13 pan (I use glass) and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  It will poof a lot and then sadly deflate when cooling.

You can sprinkle confectioner’s sugar on top after baking or make a glaze of lemon juice and confectioner’s sugar.  I’ve done it both ways and you can’t go wrong.  Plus they’re fat-free!

Try it and let me know what you think!

 Enjoy your Labor Day holiday! 

Leave a Reply

